Wreck-It Ralph is a new Disney Classic!

Theatrical release poster depicting the protagonist, Ralph, along with various video game characters

You know how I go on about lack of original ideas?  Well…Wreck-It Ralph is proof that it still exists.  It is one of the most clever, original stories I’ve ever seen.  It may have familiar themes, but in execution it is all creative and awesome! 😀  I loved it.

Before I jump into Ralph, I must begin with the animated short that runs in front of the featured attraction…Paperman.  It is truly a beautiful mixture of hand drawn and CG images and 100% brilliant.  Do not be late–it is worth the extra minutes.

Okay.  Animation is powerful.  You can use it to tell stories that would be impossible to tell in live action and it also ups the ante on possibilities.  W-IR takes full advantage of this and creates a world that only animation could capture–the video game world. It is rich and full of tiny details that only helps to sell the entire universe.  (Side note: Children will love the colorful images and understand the narrative, but adults will relish every game reference and classic character cameo, too.)

Writers Jennifer Lee and Phil Johnston (with story help from John C. Reilly) focus on classic themes of loneliness, isolation, rejection and self-image but they wrap it in a unique package–a 10 foot tall 64-bit video game villain, with “freakishly big hands” and an annoying little girl with candy stuck in her hair.  Director Rich Moore makes all the right choices.  The pace is quick and tight (never a dull moment) and he cleverly allows Ralph to evolve organically, while staying true to his nature.

The voice cast is perfect.  John C. Reilly is Ralph.  His intonations and inflections just fit.  Sarah Silverman (who I usually do not care for) is wonderful as Vanellope.  Jane Lynch hits it out of the park and Jack McBrayer‘s typical one-note character (sorry…but he is) actually works here.

What elevates Wreck-It Ralph from the standard kids movie is its attention to more than just funny gags and clever cameos.  It tells a real human story.  A story about what it is like to be without a home and trying to identify who you are.  There were a few moments that choked me up a bit and others that had me laughing out loud. The social media keeps saying that Disney has finally put out a Pixar quality film and I may have to agree with them.

Wreck-It Ralph will stick with you–for all the right, wonderful reasons!  And yeah…I am going to see it again!

Wreck-It Ralph Trailer

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

5 thoughts on “Wreck-It Ralph is a new Disney Classic!

  1. Interesting interpretation. I thought that Wreck-It Ralph was, thematically, more geared toward adults than children. There were numerous families in the showing I went to, and the children were subdued, for the most part (unlike in the case of Paranorman, which also had adult themes, though I thought was more directed at younger people).

    • I agree that thematically it is geared towards adults. I can totally see how young kids would not get all the references (I didn’t know all the old time characters–not a huge gamer myself) and this is indeed an adult’s nostalgic playground, but I also work part time in a theater and the younger kids have been all sorts of excited–laughing and walking out saying “I’m gonna wreck it!” (very cute!) I think there is enough visual stimulation to keep them engaged and for them to get the overall message.

      Very much like Pixar films–I think they walk the line of being interesting and entertaining for kids, while still being relevant and mentally stimulating for adults. A nice balance, which is hard to maintain…Hotel Transylvania was proof of that scale tipping towards “kids only” territory.

      Thanks for visiting! Hope to see you again…

  2. Pingback: Finally, I post my Top 25 Films of 2012! « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

