Rise of the Guardians is a beautiful family film–perfect for the Holidays!

Rise of the Guardians is cool, family fun!  ROTG is not as good as a film as some of its counterparts (this year it would be Wreck-It Ralph) but it is a satisfying, enjoyable holiday tale.  It is not too kiddie for adults and yet, not too adult for kiddos.

The most impressive aspect of ROTG is the incredible character design and beautiful cinematography.  Each legend is uniquely created–there was a Santa concept I’ve never seen before and works great (love the tats!)–an Easter Bunny so badass I couldn’t help but want one :D–a gorgeous Tooth Fairy that had hummingbird feathers–a Sandman that was brilliantly made entirely of sand–a Boogie Man that was all smoke and shadow (so cool!)–and then there was Jack Frost, who although just a young man had some pretty awesome frost powers.  It earns high scores for creativity and originality.

The voice cast is wonderful.  Alec Baldwin is unrecognizable as Santa (North)–Chris Pine suits Jack Frost perfectly–Isla Fisher captures the Tooth Fairy’s sweetness–Sandman does not have a voice, but is awesome–Jude Law‘s Pitch Black (aka Bogey Man) is menacing and a highlight of the film and my favorite is Hugh Jackman‘s Bunnymund, who is like no Easter Bunny you’ve ever seen or heard!

It may be a bit scary for younger kids, but for 8 and up–it is solid fun.  I loved how it just made me feel good.  I laughed a lot (the elves and yetis are golden)  and even got choked up a bit.  You will emerge with the Holiday spirit amped-up and ready to spread good will and cheer to all!  Not too shabby for a kids movie, especially one that helps you remember the wonder, hope and fun each season can offer and how important it is to cherish those memories.

Rise of the Guardians Trailer

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

2 thoughts on “Rise of the Guardians is a beautiful family film–perfect for the Holidays!

  1. Yeah, I thought about that too – that it might be scary for younger kids. But I went with my niece, who’s six, and she seemed fine, and definitely was happy when all was said and done.

    I’m with you on this one. In fact, I may even be a bigger fan. I really liked it a ton. The creatures ARE really well designed and given great backstories/environments etc. And it all looks beautiful on screen… I was really impressed. Nice one Nedi!

    • Thanks! I enjoyed a ton, too! It is truly gorgeous throughout and great fun. It just did not strike that deeper cord–you know? Yet, not like it merits a bad review–actually I’ve seen it twice already! 😀
      I read this takes place 200 years after William Joyce’s novels –wonder if they will make prequels? I would love to know how they all were chosen–it would be cool.
      Later!!

Leave a Reply

