Compilation Post: Catching up at home…

Recently I have tried to catch up on several films that I missed at the theater and they are stacking up–so again, I resort to another compilation post.  I was actually disappointed in most, so this should be quick.  😀

Arthur Christmas

I LOVED IT!!  Why didn’t I see this last year?  I do not know, but I missed out.  I am a huge fan of Aardman Studios and they do not disappoint.  This is an original take on Santa and the North Pole with a wonderful, heartfelt story in the center.  It has quickly become a new traditional Christmas film to watch every year!   The voice talent is awesome and you will find yourself laughing and tearing up a bit.  This was the treasure in the bunch!

 

Sound of My Voice

I was very excited about this one!  I loved Brit Marling‘s Another Earth and thought the premise was very creative and intriguing.  Well I loved 95% of this film–all the way up to the last 3 minutes!! What a bummer.  Not many films can ruin an entire narrative in the closing moments…but SOMV does it.  I can not even like the rest of it because the ending is SO unsatisfying.  I am truly getting tired of indie films constant use of ambiguous endings.  Guess what guys?  It is not creative and inventive…it is LAZY screenwriting!  A good story should have a good ENDING!  Geez.  **Deep sigh**

 

Your Sister’s Sister

Another one I was looking forward to–I am a big fan of Emily Blunt and Mark Duplass–and although this one was not as frustrating (still had the “leave you hanging” ending **eye roll**) as SOMV, it just did not quite capture me.  I did not really care for any of these characters and when you do not care it is not all that interesting.  I enjoyed the chemistry between Blunt and Rosemarie DeWitt, as sisters, but overall it rates a “meh”.

 

Savages

BOO!! This was soooo bad!  This was a total waste of talent–all the way around!  Oliver Stone has lost his touch.   Avoid this trash.  It does not even merit any more of my words.

 

 

Lawless

**Deep sigh**  Again.  I have to really think hard to remember this film.  Yup.  It is forgettable.  And you would think with this amazing cast that would not be the case.  Well, we were wrong.   Yes, there are fine performances, but nothing works here.  The characters are shallow and no one has any chemistry with each other–the narrative  just seems to wander and even the action is lackluster.  The ending?  Dumb. Oh, well.

 

That’s it.  Told you it would be quick.  Pretty disappointing set of films, but right now I am in the middle of my annual Christmas viewings and having a jolly good time.  Thinking I might put up a post with a list of all my seasonal favorites…that would be fun!   Happy Holidays!

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

4 thoughts on “Compilation Post: Catching up at home…

    • Thanks!! I know I have a different style–nice to know it’s appreciated. :D.

      I think my expectations were too high for Lawless…it was bound to disappoint. It’s sad when that happens…

      Again, thanks! And glad you checked in!

  1. I agree COMPLETELY on Savages. Thank you. I feel we are in the minority on this one man.

    But, I actually enjoyed Lawless. saw it twice, opinion stayed the same! 🙂

    Great set of mini-reviews. I love short and sweet reviews like that!

    • Yes! It was sooooo BAD! And the ending? LAME. 😀

      Lawless failed to entertain me–granted I watched it while I was sick and was in the middle of a, unplanned, streak of “meh” movies. I will try to watch again with some of my peeps–maybe I will soften my opinion…maybe. 😀

      And thanks–yeah…compilations are becoming a necessary format for me. Sometimes time gets away from me!

Leave a Reply

