One of the Best Films of 2012? Sleepwalk with Me.

Yeah…I know.  What?  Sleepwalk with Me?  Never heard of it–right? Honestly, I did know about it either until Joss Whedon made a hilarious video “boycotting” (wink,wink) this film.  And now I am (again) grateful to Mr. Whedon, because Mike Birbiglia’s true and hilarious story has easily become one of my favorites of the year.

JOSS WHEDON-Boycott Mike Birbiglia’s Film “Sleepwalk With Me” – YouTube

First, I will tell you other stuff I did not know.  Birbiglia wrote this and performed it as a one-man show that mixed stand-up and theater, back in 2009, at the Bleecker Street Theatre in New York City.  With that success he then wrote a book Sleepwalk With Me & Other Painfully True Stories, that went on to become a bestseller, which lead to his directorial début.  Wow!

Well, watching this small, independent film was a pure pleasure.  Birbiglia uses his real life and his real REM Sleep Behavior Disorder to tell a very raw, sometimes painful, honest tale.  It is hilarious and poignant.  The unique way that it is presented and structured helps to enhance your connection to the story.  It is a narrative, yet it is cut with Birbiglia making direct camera commentary (that adds a sense of intimacy) and parts of his stand up routines and strangely, it works .

I can go on and on.  I loved everything! Sometimes life is stranger than fiction and worth telling.  Bravo, Bribiglia!  Thanks for being a creative, new voice in cinema.  We need more of these kind of maverick endeavors.

So go find this and check it out!  I would love to hear what you all think.

Sleepwalk With Me Trailer (2012) HD – YouTube

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

3 thoughts on “One of the Best Films of 2012? Sleepwalk with Me.

  1. Pingback: Finally, I post my Top 25 Films of 2012! « nediunedited

    • It appeared on my radar when Joss Whedon (who I adore) created a boycott (wink-wink) video for the film’s expansion to 500 theaters. (It is hilarious, like all his little videos! The Romney for zombies is classic.)

      So glad I did–it was a hidden treasure! You will enjoy it–can’t wait to see what you think.

Leave a Reply

