Surprise. Surprise. Warm Bodies is not as bad as it could’ve been.

And it could have been really bad.  A zombie love story?? Really?  Well, yes, and the best part is that it works!  Warm Bodies mixes romance, comedy and a bit of action in a refreshing-fun way.  Although it borrows from standards in each genre–together it creates a whole new experience–and scores high marks just for its cleverness alone.

My first draw was Jonathan Levine.  I loved 50/50 and had to give Warm Bodies the benefit of the doubt, since he adapted the script (based on  Isaac Marion’s novel) and was directing it.  And I must say, Levine does not disappoint.  He takes his time and makes the right choices here.    By keeping it light and poking obvious fun at the mythology, he is able to allow you to accept the premise and even start to care for the characters.

It also helps that the cast is perfect.  I think a zombie protagonist is a hard sell, but Nicholas Hoult makes it look easy.  In the hands of a lesser actor, it could have been stiff or unbelievable–instead he is charming and funny–this guy has talent.  Teresa Palmer is less talented (let’s be honest)–yet, she warms up to you and you can’t help but cheer for her and understand her choices.  I credit Levine for that.  Add the wonderful Rob Corddry (zombie best friend), Analeigh Tipton (human BF) and a restrained (and awesome) John Malkovich and you have a solid cast.

I enjoyed Warm Bodies way more than I expected.  It’s light and fluffy–but also creative and unlike any movie other movie out there.  Even with the Romeo and Juliet overtones–Levine is able to find a fresh approach to…well…everything.  😀   Original–fun–unique twist?  Hey, that’s better than most.  I will take it.

Warm Bodies Official Trailer #1 (2013) – Zombie Movie HD – YouTube

 

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

9 thoughts on “Surprise. Surprise. Warm Bodies is not as bad as it could’ve been.

  1. Light and fluffy was a good way to put it.

    But to their credit, I dont think there was any way to make it a serious flick, so they went the light hearted route and nailed it. Not that I think it was great or anything, but it was definitely entertaining!

    Good one Nedi, I agree!

    • It’s like I mentioned to Keith–it’s like finding a little treasure–even if it is brass and not gold. 😀

      I thought the slightly new zombie mythology (memories and hoarding :)) was very clever and by keeping it light, you were able to just go with it and enjoy the ride.

      “Bitches…man.” LOL!

      Later!

  2. Overall, this is a good movie with the zombie and romance element not backfiring on them and tells a compelling story with a good chance of them doing it well. Good review Nedi.

    • I love it when this happens…when expectations are low and the movie easily exceeds them…it’s like finding a little treasure. Even if it’s brass and not gold. 😀

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

