Snitch is better than expected–not that my bar was that high!

I love Dwayne Johnson!  He has presence, charisma and a million-watt smile.  Born to be an action movie star, for sure!   And yet, his “family friendly”  choices have left most of us dreading some of his films–but when action is mixed in, it usually turns out fun–most of the time.  With Snitch, Johnson throws us a curve ball–a drama, with very little action, and it works.

The trailer is a bit deceiving–and necessarily so–fans of The Rock demand action!  Well, they will get a little–but definitely not enough to make sure there would be repeated viewings.  Yet, I liked it.  Maybe because I want Johnson to do well.   😀

This story is based on true events and is interesting, although a bit too after school special in areas.  Writer/Director  Ric Roman Waugh does a decent job with the material–but it is pretty standard and at times, he appears to be in over his head (especially with tense and action scenes).

What saves the film from disposable trash, are the performances–Johnson holds his own (I hope he gets more dramatic opportunities) and is able to make you believe that he is a normal, average dude–that can in no way snap your neck with one hand.   😀  Side note:  I think that is going to be his biggest obstacle–playing the everyday man–what works well for him are the Rundown (which I love!) sort of characters–NOT the everyday man, but everyday man desires and behaviors.  Otherwise we will always snicker a bit–especially when he could easily kick all sorts of ass!  Can you smell what the Rock is cooking?? LOL!

Yet it is the supporting cast that shines here.  Barry Pepper–where have you been?  I’ve missed you.  Jon Bernthal is perfectly cast (SHANE!! Shout out).  Michael K. Williams is a badass, per usual (OMAR!! Shout out).  Susan Sarandon is great and Benjamin Bratt even shows up.  Yeah…they keep you invested throughout.  I believe with a lesser cast this could have failed.

So, thankfully–in part to good casting and a solid premise–Snitch turns out to be decent entertainment.  Gives me hope for Mr. Rock–keep it up.  (But, who am I kidding?  I would go see him no matter what.  😀  Except for Tooth Fairy..I DID NOT see that–and never will. -_-)

 

SNITCH – Trailer – YouTube

 

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Snitch is better than expected–not that my bar was that high!

Leave a Reply

