I enjoyed Jack Reacher. A lot.

The poster shows a man, injured and holding a gun, standing in front of a car. Text at the bottom reveals the tagline and in bottom reveals the film's main actor and title, credits, rating and release date.

Tom Cruise is indeed Jack Reacher and I have to admit that he is pretty cool.  Yes, it may be a bit predictable and it does not reinvent the genre–but, it does deliver big time in the fun factor and the entertainment value!  I appreciated the realistic approach to the action and can not deny Cruise his star quality–he sells it and you end up buying it.   🙂

First of all, let me say that I have not read any of Lee Child‘s novels, so I did not go in with an image of the character that many of his fans did.  What I understand is that JR is a huge, beast of a man–“Reacher is 6’5″ tall (1.96 m) with a 50-inch chest, and weighing between 220 and 250 pounds (100–115 kg). He has ice-blue eyes and dirty blond hair.”  And obviously, Cruise does NOT fit that description.

In his defense, I think he carried the attitude and displayed the ability to be that character without the size and ice-blue eyes.  He is BIG in spirit.  Plus, let us not forget that size does not equal prowess–Bruce Lee, anyone?  So, bottom line is that I bought it.  It was filmed in a believable fashion and unless you are set on Reacher’s physical appearance, it should not be an issue.

 

Credit must also be given to writer/director Christopher McQuarrie, who has been impressive with his screenplays–(The Usual Suspects quite possibly being his masterpiece)–and after this, is now in talks to direct Cruise in the next Mission Impossible film.  Well, he makes smart choices here.  By taking his time with the action he allows it to become tense and palpable.  McQuarrie also plays it smart with the narrative.  Yes, you’re able to pick up the hints and clues–but that in itself is part of the fun.  He allows Reacher to be impressive and yet also reminds you to wink and smile too.

Add a strong supporting cast–the lovely Rosamund Pike, the ever-awesome Richard Jenkins, the interesting David Oyelowo, and the creepy Werner Herzog— and a wonderful cameo (that I don’t want to spoil) and you end up enjoying your time in Jack Reacher’s company.

So much so, that I am actually wishing for a sequel–crazy–right?!  😀   Indeed.

Jack Reacher Trailer

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

10 thoughts on “I enjoyed Jack Reacher. A lot.

  1. I dont think you’re crazy, Nedi, I’m hoping for a sequel too. I liked the character much more than the movie, but the film was still pretty good. Action, some mixed in humor, yeah… it wasn’t too bad!

    • Indeed! And Cruise is hit and miss with me–sometimes I find him to be too “Tom Cruise”–you know? 🙂 but it works here–I believed him.
      And it reminded me of good, old fashioned storytelling–with a solid character–I likened it to Lincoln Lawyer–you can find the problems but you didn’t care because you were enjoying the ride!

      Later!! 😀

  2. Great review Ned. Cruise does a really good job of playing a guy who can kick ass, not just because the script needs him to, but because he surprisingly does look and feel like the type of guy who’s really bad-ass.

    • That is the truth! He is very capable–and appreciated how they shot the fight scenes–very gritty and real. Fist fighting is exhausting and I like that they showed that–they were tired! 😀

      Also, they made his moves more about knowing where to strike–rather than how hard. There were several “ouch” moments–I could feel some of those hits! 😉

      Thanks! And later!

  3. I have to say, I’ve always wanted to see this yet still considered that it might be garbage. The reviews have been favourable though and you continue that trend. Nice one.

    • Thanks! Yes, I was surprised too by how much I enjoyed it. The character is great and there is potential for future Reacher outings.

      Like I mention, it is not reinventing the wheel–but, it is nice when you have a well made, entertaining movie. Sometimes I think Hollywood has forgotten how to make those. 😀

      Appreciate your visit!

  4. I didn’t like this much…Cruise never convinced me. I did like Herzog as the villain, although I wish he would have had a bigger role!

    • My expectations were pretty low–so, I could walk out pleasantly surprised. It was pretty predictable, but still better than most.

      And yes, I like Herzog–so creepy! 😉

      See ya later!

Leave a Reply

