June Movie Watching in Review

I saw a bunch of films at home last month and the year of mediocrity continues.  What can I say?  I have seen more “meh” films this year than good ones.  Hope it is just a fluke and not a trending pattern.

Here we go!

GI Joe: Retaliation

G.I. JOE Retaliation.jpg

Well…it had some cool action and fight sequences.  It had some good-looking eye candy.  But, sadly–that is it.

Fluffy summer fun.  Completely forgettable.

42

42 film poster.jpg

The true story of Jackie Robinson is an important part of our history and his breaking of the color barrier in Baseball is inspiring.  Unfortunately, this film is not as  inspiring.  It is an ordinary film about an extraordinary man.  It’s not a bad movie–it is serviceable and safe, but fails to evoke any emotion, which should have been easy with such a topic.  But–hey, Harrison Ford is awesome in this and reminds us that he can act–that is worth the watch.

The Host

The Host Poster.jpg

WOW.  So bad.  I was laughing out loud.  The inner dialogue gets old (and hilarious) in two minutes.  The premise and concept are actually promising–but fails in execution.  Writer/Director Andrew Niccol started with a promising career and has been on a downhill slide–his last attempt 2011 In Time also suffered from “good idea–poor execution” syndrome, but at least had a stronger cast.  Saoirse Ronan proves she can indeed act–even with horrible material–and William Hurt shows up here (where have you been Will?) and it was nice to see him.  Everyone else?  Terrible.

Dead Man Down

Dead Man Down Theatrical Poster.jpg

I had some expectations going in to Dead Man Down.  I was excited to see what Danish director Niels Arden Oplev (his first American film after the Danish Girl with a Dragon Tattoo) would do with the premise, which was strong and original.  I was excited that J.H. Wyman (Fringe show runner) had written the script–it should be good and clever.  So, I begin and I am liking it–a lot– Colin Farrell and Noomi Rapace have wonderful chemistry and are knocking it out of the park.  Cool.  Terrence Howard and Dominic Cooper give us some solid support work.  The film looks great and has some wonderfully tense and well executed scenes.  All good–right?  Well…then it falls apart towards the end.  It becomes heavy with plot exposition–becomes easily predictable and honestly sloppy.  What a shame.

Evil Dead (2013)

EvilDead2013Poster.jpg

I like being scared.  Really.  It’s like riding a roller coaster–thrilling, scary and yet, safe.  You know you are okay in your home (or theater) and that this will not happen to you (hopefully).  I love watching scary movies with my daughter, Vieve because if it’s really good we will end up curled up together hugging each other tightly.  With Evil Dead we never reached cuddle status.  It started well.  They tried to build some character–the atmosphere was creepy and ominous–but quickly it all evolved into a gore fest.  Hey, that’s fine for some–but it is not my cup of tea.  It just stops being “scary” and just become gross.  By the end, we were nowhere near clasping each other for support–no need.  The original is better.  And also–it’s hard not to watch this and think Cabin in the Woods (yeah…chuckle.)

Bullet to the Head

Bullet to the Head Poster.jpg

Is it 1985??  Because Bullet to the Head is straight out of that decade.  Big, loud, silly fun.  All the parts work.  Stallone is…well Stallone and there is nothing wrong with that.  😀   I enjoyed the cool action sequences and even cooler fist fights. Yes.  I love a creative fist fight and Jason Momoa is not only a good match for Stallone, he is a decent villain.  A solid good time–even for 2013.

Solomon Kane

SolomonKanePoster.jpg

Cool action sequences.  That’s it.  I honestly cannot remember anything else.

Identity Thief

Identity Thief Poster.jpg

I am a fan of Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy, so I thought this would surely be a good time.  I was wrong.  Neither of these two fine comedians could save this script and the down right silliness required of them.  A waste of fantastic talent.  Identify Thief never quite decides what kind of movie it wants to be and in turn ends up being disjointed and awkward.

Die Hard 5:  A Good Day to Die Hard

A Good Day to Die Hard.jpg

No.  No.  No.  This is NOT the John McClane I love.  That poster alone makes me want to scream–really?  They took a beloved, classic line and what?  Made it cute??  UGH!  That is exactly what they did to this franchise.  Nothing worked for me.  It was big, loud and dumb.  The chemistry was terrible, the action was tired and Bruce Willis looked bored–not that I blame him.  🙂  I hope this ends now.  Either bring back the real McClane or stop it.

The Call

The Call poster.jpg

There was a good movie in there–they just missed it.  A lot of things work in The Call.  Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin are solid and turn in great performances.  The premise is creative and original–911 dispatch is a unique approach and full of possible scenarios.  But so many opportunities were missed because it want to turn into some kind of action thriller?  It all goes down hill the last 30 minutes when they trade reality and drama for implausible and fake tension.  Bummer.

The Incredible Burt Wonderstone

Incredible-Burt-Wonderstone-Poster.jpg

What can I say?  I wanted this to be funny.  I like all these guys.  But, no.  It wasn’t very funny.   There were glimpses of funny–but too brief to make any kind of impression.  I appreciated the character driven plot and the homage to magic, but overall I could not be impressed.

See?  A whole bunch of “meh”!  Let’s see what July brings…

Later, guys! 😀

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

2 thoughts on “June Movie Watching in Review

Leave a Reply

